Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by
The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review 
 The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation. Also new to this edition, integrated throughout the Handbook, is the set of standards Cochrane expects its reviews to meet. Written for review authors, editors, trainers and others with an interest in Cochrane Reviews, the second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions continues to offer an invaluable resource for understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting reviews.
How to Read a Paper by
How to Read a Paper describes the different types of clinical research reporting, and explains how to critically appraise the publications. The book provides the tools to find and evaluate the literature, and implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Written for anyone in the health care professions who has little or no knowledge of evidence-based medicine, it provides a clear understanding of the concepts and how to put them into practice at the basic, clinical level. Changes for the 4th edition The fourth edition will include two new chapters on important developments in health care research and delivery, but otherwise retains its original style, size, and scope. New chapter on quality improvement - describing papers on quality improvement projects using ebm methods; this will extend the readership to non clinical health care professionals working in hospitals and family practice, and to nurse specialists and practice nurses working in this field New chapter on complex interventions - how to set up research projects involving both qualitative and quantitative methodology (known as mixed methods) Thorough revision and updating of existing chapters and references New illustrations - diagrammatic representations of ebm concepts
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in healthcare. You can access the CDSR through the KCU Libraries database OVID by selecting EBM Reviews-Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews that are published in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. In order to qualify, a systematic review must be completed using the Cochrane Reviews method as described in the Cocharane Handbook for Systematic Reviews and Interventions.
Types of Cochrane Reviews
The Cochrane Public Health Group: Guide for developing a Cochrane protocol
Information gathered from:
About Cochrane Reviews: Cochrane Library. (n.d.). Retrieved June 15, 2020, from https://www.cochranelibrary.com/about/about-cochrane-reviews
PROSPERO is an international prospective register for systematic reviews. It is produced by CRD and funded by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR).
Key features from a review protocol are recorded and maintained as part of the permanent record to provide a comprehensive list of systematic reviews to help avoid duplication and reduce reporting bias.
PROSPERO accepts registrations for systematic reviews, rapid reviews, and umbrella reviews. They DO NOT accept scoping reviews or literature reviews.
Its not uncommon for time to be an issue for researchers interested in doing an in depth review. Systematic reviews and meta-analysis are known for their lengthy processes. When time is a factor, a Rapid Review is sometimes completed instead.
The Rapid Review Guidebook is a good place to start if you're interested in doing a rapid review.
"This detailed guidebook provides helpful methods and tools for performing a rapid review. The resource describes the necessary steps for conducting a rapid review, from identifying the team and stakeholders to creating a logic model that outlines the structure of the final report. users often need rapid reviews when using evidence to inform policy and program decisions in an expedited manner. The guidance document provides helpful tips for conducting the reviews and provides tools to help the user complete each step of the process. The comprehensive guidebook aligns with the first five steps in the process of evidence-informed decision making promoted by the National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools."
Rayyan QCRI is a free web application to help systematic review authors. Authors can create systematic reviews, collaborate on them, maintain them over time, and get suggestions for article inclusion. It is available online as well as through the Rayyan app and automatically syncs to Rayyan servers to store your work.
If you chose to use Rayyan QCRI for your systematic review, please use the citation below to give credit:
Mourad Ouzzani, Hossam Hammady, Zbys Fedorowicz, and Ahmed Elmagarmid. Rayyan — a web and mobile app for systematic reviews. Systematic Reviews (2016) 5:210, DOI: 10.1186/s13643-016-0384-4.
PRISMA and PRISMA-P are evidence based minimum sets of items for systematic reviews and meta-analysis. These are checklists and guides to help focus your research, but please note that using them does not automatically denote systematic review status of research. These are guides for research that can be used in a variety of different types of reviews.