Skip to Main Content

All Things Pharmacology: Electronic Resources

Find Pharmacology resources all in one place.

Access Medicine/Drugs

Access Medicine has an integrated drug database providing critical information on

  • medication indications
  • dosages
  • contraindications
  • drug classes
  • patient handouts in English and Spanish.

This is the same drug database found in "Access Surgery" and "Access Pediatrics."

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide

Clinical Pharmacology

Clinical Pharmacology is a comprehensive drug database that has U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products, and new and investigational drugs.

Natural Medicines - Food, Herbs and Supplements

NatMedPro (formerly called Natural Medicines) is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. It provides clinical decision support for dietary supplements, herbs, vitamins, minerals, non-prescription drugs, functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions with an integrative approach to healthcare.

UpToDate Lexidrug

LexidrugPoint-of-care drug information, clinical practice guidelines, medical calculators, drug interaction checker, and more clinical tools, plus in-depth databases for deeper research on topics such as pharmacogenomics, comparative efficacy, and more.

MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements

In MedlinePlus's section on Drugs, Herbs and Supplements you can learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines.

Including:

  • side effects
  • dosage
  • special precautions
  • and more

‚ÄčYou can browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, dosage, and drug interactions.

All medication information is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information, copyrighted by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), Inc.

Drug Industry Documents

Opioid Industry Documents Archive

The University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) and Johns Hopkins University launched the Opioid Industry Documents Archive, a digital repository of publicly disclosed documents from recent judgments, settlements, and ongoing lawsuits concerning the opioid crisis. The documents come from government litigation against pharmaceutical companies, including opioid manufacturers and distributors related to their contributions to the deadly epidemic, as well as litigation taking place in federal court on behalf of thousands of cities and counties in the United States. The documents in the archive include emails, memos, presentations, sales reports, budgets, audit reports, Drug Enforcement Administration briefings, meeting agendas and minutes, expert witness reports, and depositions of drug company executives.