Fall 2024, Volume 34
Newsletter Contents
Message from your Library Director
We're excited to welcome back all our returning students and our new students this year! The mission of the KCU Libraries is to provide a dynamic, learner-centered environment while serving the informational and research needs of the KCU community. The D’Angelo and Dawson Libraries align with the mission of the university by advancing education, research, patient care and community service for the university and the communities that we serve. It is our goal to be the center of learning for the university and provide an environment that inspires intellectual curiosity, innovation and collaboration.
Stop by your campus library and say hello to the friendly library staff who are eager to help in anyway they can.
Message from your Library Director, Lori Fitterling, MLS
Welcome to the KCU libraries! We look forward to this new academic year and hope you will take time to visit the library to find your study place and meet our library staff who are ready to….
Come by and let us help you meet both the challenges and successes of your academic journey. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or problems. Let’s make it a great year!
KCU Libraries provides access to over 60 databases, and we're always evaluating new options to increase our student and faculty access to the most reliable, evidence based content. Over the summer we've added a couple new databases that will increase your access to information sources and help with your research goals.
Web of Science
Search the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high-quality research most relevant to your area of interest. Using linked cited references, explore the subject connections between articles that are established by the expert researchers working in your field.
Scopus AI
Scopus AI is an intuitive and intelligent search tool powered by generative AI (GenAI) that enhances your understanding and enriches your insights with unprecedented speed and clarity. Built in close collaboration with the academic community, it is a fully realized, subscription-based solution that serves as your trusted guide through the vast expanse of human knowledge found on Scopus, the world's largest multidisciplinary and trusted abstract and citation database.
To try out these new databases, visit our A-Z Databases page.
KCU Libraries is excited to welcome back Robyn Oro to the library team! Robyn previously worked at D'Angelo Library for over 30 years before retiring last fall. Robyn rejoined our library team in August and we couldn't be happier to have her back in our department.
Robyn is our Special Collections Coordinator in the D'Angelo Library and oversees our Special Collections, a collection of historical osteopathic items along with KCU history. She also assists students at the Access Services desk in the D'Angelo Library.
Welcome back, Robyn!
This fall the D'Angelo library will be undergoing some necessary maintenance and upgrades. This includes rearranging our 1st and 2nd floor furniture and installing a new sound masking system on our 2nd floor to reduce noise. It is our goal to complete these projects as quickly as possible to minimize the disruption to our students. To do this, the D'Angelo library will be closed to students Thursday, September 5th through Sunday, September 8th.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause but look forward to reopening on Monday, September 9th and sharing these great changes with you!
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
