Welcome to the new year and back to the library! We hope everyone was able to get some much needed rest and to spend time with friends and family. The D'Angelo Library staff is looking forward to spring semester and all that comes with it. Join us for all your study, research, and literary needs!
Instead of setting resolutions this year, try creating a "In vs Out" list. Use it to help you hone in on what your 2023 focus will be and to help take off the pressure of restricting resolutions. A few examples below could help you get started:
In
-Using KCU campus' many outdoor spots for studying and relaxing
-Joining a club or group on campus
-Investigating what selfcare means to you personally
-Finding a cause to donate time or resources to
Out
-Ignoring internal cues that signal burnout
-Skipping the library's monthly newsletter, Cover to Cover
-Using Google as the end-all, be-all medical research tool
Use your "In vs Out" list whenever you are feeling unmoored and looking for where to hang your focus back on throughout the year.
Goal Setting for the New Year
If you are setting some intentions to tackle in the upcoming '23, try out the HARD Goals framework as a way to guide the process.
Heartfelt - “Describe at least three reasons why you want this goal (note: the reasons can be intrinsic, personal, and/or extrinsic).”
Animated - “Think about where you want your career to be, and describe to me exactly what you’re doing (what kind of work you’re doing, who you’re working with, what your days look like, etc.) one year, three years, and five years from now.”
Required - “What do you need to have accomplished by the end of the next six months to keep on track toward achieving this goal? What about by the end of the next 90 days? The next 30 days? What’s one thing you can accomplish today?”
Difficult - “What are the three to five most important skills you’ll need to develop to achieve this goal? How will you develop those skills?”
Source: https://www.forbes.com/sites/markmurphy/2017/06/11/hard-goals-not-smart-goals-are-the-key-to-career-development/?sh=5009f3af70fb
Library Guide Spotlight: Citation Management Tools
Citation managers are tools you can use to keep track of articles and books while you research. They allow users to annotate and tag articles and can be used to create bibliographies and reference lists quickly and easily. Click here to learn more about EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero, and more! You can use this guide to also learn about saving citations directly from PubMed!
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
Newsletter Contents
Celebrating Black History Month
Osteopathic Advocates Art Display
Celebrating Black History Month with KCU Libraries
Please join KCU Libraries in recognizing and celebrating Black History Month! Through our collection development, we aim to give space to voices that have not historically been uplifted and to praise the hard work and innovation of Black doctors, medical professionals, and community champions.
Found in our Notes from the Library Archives Blog, written by Robyn Oro, read about Ray E. Piper (COM '60), the first African- American graduate of this school; Samuel U. Rodgers, a pioneer in Kansas City health history; and William G. Anderson, who has helped forge a strong connection between osteopathic medicine and activism.
Our Representation in Medicine Research Guide provides literature, videos, journals, and more to better develop a sense of need in the public health sector, especially in regards to marginalized communities and how policies affect populations differently.
Use our Racism in Medicine Resources: Anti-Racism Resources Research Guide to deepen your knowledge regarding the past and make way for a more informed future.
When in the library, stop by and check out materials from our display shelf with titles written by and about Black people in medicine and their incredible contributions to the field.
During February, Heart Health Month is observed by placing special attention and care on the treatment and prevention of cardiovascular disease. As a medical school, information regarding this subject is on hand and ready for student, faculty, and staff to use.
Cardiopulmonary & Renal Resources Research Guide for textbooks, e-books, interactive dissection tools, and more.
50+ Databases with journals, books, presentations, and much more to dig deeper into those heart based problems and research questions.
Review the CDC's 2023 American Hearth Month Toolkit to find resources for professionals and patients, with quick facts, quizzes, and social media tips.
Joplin's Dawson Library is currently renovating its open study space to include an additional 24-30 seats for study. The changes will help to support a more inclusive study space for our incoming CDM students. Additional renovations later this year will include expanded shelving, updated offices, and improved patron access and services.
Recently Published Work from KCU Faculty, Staff, and Students - collected by Rick Sprinkle
Christopher Surek, DO, Assistant Professor: Venous Tributaries of the Lip: Implications for Lip Filler Injection
Edward, Pingenot, COM 2023 Joplin: A Scoping Review of Interventions and Experiences Increasing Medical Student Interest in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Suporn Suprapru-Braaten, PhD, GME Consultant: Large Mucocele of the Appendix Discovered in a 48-Year-Old Male Presenting with Appendicitis: A Case Report
Scott Lowe, COM 2024: Dose viral inoculum play a role in disease severity in COVID-19?
Yuan Xie, COM 2026: Plasma protein profiling analysis in patients with atrial fibrillation before and after three different ablation techniques
Gretchen Koller, COM 2024: Letter: Addressing Barriers to Student Participation in Neurosurgical Conferences: Experiences From the Inaugural Early Career Neuroscience Virtual Research Symposium
Abigale Clark, COM 2023: Patient Perspectives on the Lived Experience of Granuloma Annulare
Yuandian Zheng, COM 2024: Subjective attitudes moderate the social connectedness in eSports gaming during COVID-19 pandemic: A Cross-sectional study
Found at the KC and Joplin locations, we now have laptop/book stands for check out! Use these to create a dynamic set up that works best for you without worrying if the stack of books you built will hold steady.
See the front desk to reserve one today!
Osteopathic Advocates Art Display
Gifted by our new Campus Dean, Dr. Sharon Gustowksi, these pieces display famous supporters of the osteopathic sciences with quotes regarding their impressions and thoughts on the subject. While here, check out more of the art housed at the D'Angelo Library.
Using Ovid's new interface, advanced filters, and clearer functions, finding and saving resources is a simplified process. Ovid is a database that contains journals, books, and procedure videos that are easily added to a personal workspace that saves your starred items. Log in and create your account today to benefit from this database!
See full list of New Resources here
And More!
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
March 2023, Volume 25
Newsletter Contents
The KCU Libraries would like to wish all a Happy Women's History Month and take a moment to reflect on and celebrate the amazing work our alumni and current students, staff, and faculty have been able accomplish. From our first graduate, Mamie Johnston (Class of 1917) to all those who have followed in her footsteps, KCU libraries holds you all in the highest esteem and looks forward to opportunities to commemorate and honor the work that you do. Please feel welcome to check out our Women's History Month display, curated by Robyn Oro to find materials and information about women in medicine and find motivation in their achievements.
Research is at the heart of any medical school and especially here at KCU. Without those taking the time to find evidence-backed medicine, completing studies to help uncover patterns that lead to resolutions, or diligently and patiently creating new ways to provide care, the answers to our questions and the remedies to our ailments would never be found. KCU Libraries wants to assist your research journey and we wanted to highlight a few ways that can be done.
Research & Writing Corner
Found in the D'Angelo Library, KC Campus, situated between the Special Collections and Computer Lab, a shelf with scientific writing materials has been curated by Medical Librarian, Abbey Griffith. If you are finding trouble in knowing how and where to start or how to compile all your work in a cohesive manner, these resources are for you. On the board above, you will find more resources to keep you informed on current medical information.
Research Map
Use these info guides below to help you know where to start on your research journey. KCU Libraries has an enormous amount of databases to access and it can be daunting to decide which one will provide the best answers.
The librarians are always happy to assist with a research-based question!
Systematic Reviews
For a specific type of research, the Systematic Review, KCU Libraries has a guide for outlining all that goes into that and the levels of service we are able to provide on those endeavors. Please see the link below for more details.
Interlibrary Loan
A service KCU Libraries provides at no extra cost, if you find that the article, book, etc. is not found in our database, we will source if from another library and provide access to those that we can. There are multiple ways in which this process can be done:
Kansas City University
D'Angelo Library - Interlibrary Loan Service
1750 Independence Avenue
Kansas City, MO 64106-1453
ILL is expertly managed by Joplin's Evan Martin
PULSE Launch Event
Round out the second year of publication, the student authors and artist of the 2023 PULSE publication will be having an opportunity for the campus to view their work and hear from the writers themselves.
Check out the 2022 edition here!
Book & Puzzle Exchange
Please take a moment to stop by your campus' Book/Puzzle Exchange Event! A partnership with the KCU Libraries and Wellness Council to create a community of book and puzzle lovers. Feel free to look through the selection and borrow anything item that speaks to you, even if you do not have something to swap it with today, there will be a permanent home soon where you will be able to bring in other items and return those you have had the chance to enjoy!
Coming soon - Virtual Reality Headsets and Goggles!
More to come on this exciting partnership with Wellness Council but soon the library will have dedicated space to Virtual Reality headsets and chairs to immerse yourself in a meditative state using neurofeedback to help relieve stress and calm anxieties.
Recently Published Work - collected by Rick Sprinkle
Arad Talehakimi, COM 2024:Duloxetine for Postoperative Pain Control Following Knee or Hip Replacement: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
Gavin Cobb, COM 2024: Hereditary Angioedema with Normal C1 Esterase Inhibitor Refractory to Long-Term Prophylaxis: A Case Report
Anna Stock, COM 2023 & Pratima Singh MD, Assistant Professor, Anatomy/Pathology: Online Medical Education: Utilization of Google Forms for Remote Active Learning Experiences in a Large Medical School Class During the COVID-19 Pandemic
Farwa Jafri, COM 2023: Effects of obesity on the pharmacology of proton pump inhibitors: current understanding and future implications for patient care and research
Rishi Gupta, COM 2025 Joplin: Frequency and Outcomes of Cervical Spine Computed Tomography Imaging on Alcohol-Intoxicated Patients in the Emergency Department
Samriddh Chaudhari, COM 2024 & Leah Treffeisen, COM 2024: The 2022 Monkeypox Epidemic and What Has Led to the Current State of the Disease in the US: A Systematic Review
Bryan Beutel MD, Assistant Professor, Primary Care: Neuroma-in-continuity: a review of pathophysiology and approach to the affected patient
Robert Arnce MD, Assistant Professor, Primary Care - Joplin, Lukas Moore, DO GME Resident, & Greg Stahl, Research Associate - Joplin: Compliance with SEP-1 guidelines is associated with improved outcomes for septic shock but not for severe sepsis
Hitting Pause, a book presented during a faculty development session, is now available at KCU Libraries!
Please reach out to request it by emailing library@kansascity.edu (for both KC and Joplin) or stop in to see if it is currently available to check out.
See full list of New Resources here
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
Newsletter Contents
Renovation Update - Joplin Campus
Renovation Update - Joplin Campus
Construction crews are hard at work to bring together an updated space for the Dawson Library on the Joplin campus. Bonnie Turner, medical librarian, had this to say about the work, "Renovation is underway inside the Dawson Library. Plans are to have the space alterations completed by Memorial Day.” View the pictures below to see the work in progress and get hyped for soon to be completed renovation!
On March 22, the literary journal student group, PULSE, published their second issue and partnered with KCU Libraries and University Relations to host a Launch Event. Submissions were sent in from KC and Joplin campus students, with a mix of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, photography, and art to round out the newest edition. Authors and artists were invited to read their work or explain their vision behind the pieces and was very well attended. Some of the artwork can be seen around the D'Angelo Library in KC. The full work can be seen on our Digital Commons site.
The student editors had this to say about the event:
Jen Nguyen: "I think the launch event was a fantastic way to introduce this year's volume. Being able to meet the artists and hear them speak so passionately about their work provided depth beyond what the magazine could ever deliver."
Donald Keating: "It was heartwarming to see the response of the student body to the first ever PULSE launch event. Hearing from students who had submitted poetry, short stories, and photography share about the backstory behind their submissions is something that brought a new element to the magazine. We are so grateful for everyone who submitted and supported the event this year!"
Join us while we celebrate National Library Week, April 23-29! This year's theme is "There's More to the Story" invoking a sense of understanding the depth of all the work the libraries can and already do! Both campuses will have special events, extra treats, activities and opportunities for prizes throughout. Keep a look out for more information in the coming weeks!
In order to keep the KCU Mission of "improving the well-being of communities we serve", the staff on both campuses participated in philanthropic endeavors this past month.
Bonnie Turner with Dawson Library in Joplin has dedicated years to helping out with Ronald McDonald House and most recently assisted with a collection drive!
The KC crew joined with the PsyD team to spend an afternoon at Heart to Heart International where over 500 personal hygiene kits were assembled and packed up, ready for transport to earthquake survivors.
Sahaam Mirza, COM 2024: When Shortness of Breath Gets Misdiagnosed: Atrial Myxoma Case Report
Anmol Multani, COM 2024 Joplin: Laparoscopic vs. Robotic Gastrectomy in Patients with Situs Inversus Totalis: A Systematic Review
Scott Lowe, COM 2024: Association between screen time and developmental and behavioral problems among children in the United States: evidence from 2018 to 2020 NSCH
Erinne Kennedy, DMD, Assistant Dean, Dental; Kathryn Champion, DMD, Assistant Professor, Clinical Education; Linda Niessen, DMD, Dean, College of Dental Medicine: Rubric development and peer review for predoctoral dental education
Bailey Balinski, COM 2024: A Unique Case of Post-Biopsy Bleeding in a Jehovah's Witness with a Rare Inherited Undetermined Coagulopathy
Natasha Subbarao, COM 2024 Joplin: Long-term assessment of the functional independence measure in sports-related spinal cord injury
Stop by the front desk in KC to browse books for current units!
See full list of New Resources here
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
May 2023, Volume 27
Newsletter Contents
From Your Director, Lori Fitterling, MLS 
Congratulations 2023 graduates! It has been an honor to provide library services to all of you, and as you begin your professional journey, please rely on your information-seeking skills and look to evidence-based resources to lead in your professional practice. It is essential to rely on accurate and trustworthy information to provide high-quality patient care. Please know that you can always turn to the library for support in your pursuit of reliable information. Take care and best to you all!
To celebrate National Library Week, KC and Joplin supplied students with extra treats and opportunities to win prizes from the library staff! In Joplin, there was a Lego guessing game and KC had a candy bear filled with treats, both required entries asking for the amount with a prize going to the closest guess. Our candy bear winner was off by only 1 treat of 235!
Other prize winners were drawn from entries asking their favorite author/book or favorite thing about the library. Seeing the answers range from candy, quiet places to study, online resources, and our fabulous student workers helps to highlight this year's theme of "More to the Story". The staff at your library are here to support you in your medical journal needs, and we continue to look for innovative ideas to expand library services.
As we wind down this year and creep closer to commencement, summer break, and warmer weather, this can become a time for stress and anxiety. Finding the time to quell that or listen to our bodies can seem time-consuming when we are racing towards a finish line. The good thing about meditation is that taking a moment, even a small one, to find your center is beneficial. See the 5-4-3-2-1 Method below from the University of Rochester Medical Center for a technique that can be practiced anywhere.
Use this technique to help you center within your body and accept the situation of your reality as it currently is, no judgement or correction needed.
Feel free to stop by the D'Angelo Library and make use of our VR Headset technology in our Wellness Room for a more immersive session!
Source: https://www.urmc.rochester.edu/behavioral-health-partners/bhp-blog/april-2018/5-4-3-2-1-coping-technique-for-anxiety.aspx
Linda Niessen, DMD, Dean, College of Dental Medicine, Joplin: "Innovations in Geriatric Oral Health Care"
Ali San, COM 2025: "Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) For Craniotomies in the Treatment of Brain Tumors: A Systematic Review"
Yuandian Zheng, COM 2024: "The Mediating Role of Positive Attitudes on the Relationship Between Esports Gaming Hours and Psychological Well-Being During the COVID-19 Pandemic"
Etan Marks, KCU-GME Dermatology Faculty: "A Physician's Guide to the Use of Gene Expression Profile Ancillary Diagnostic Testing for Cutaneous Melanocytic Neoplasms"
Rachel Pellegrino, COM 2024: "An Interesting Case of Disseminated Histoplasmosis in a Patient With Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis"
Ashish Kulhari, MBBS, KCU Adjunct Clinical Faculty: "Internal Carotid Artery Agenesis: A Rare Entity"
Tanner Marriot, COM 2024, Joplin: "Subchondroplasty - A Viable Treatment Option for Transient Bone Marrow Edema Syndrome of the Navicular in an Adolescent: A Case Report"
New E-Books shown here and more at the link below!
See full list of New Resources here
Come by the D'Angelo Library on the KC Campus to review free books on our grab and go carts, currently by the front doors and on the bottom shelf of the Flashcard shelf.
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
July 2023, Volume 28
Newsletter Contents
New Library Website and Digital Commons
From Your Director, Lori Fitterling, MLS
Welcome to the KCU libraries! We look forward to this new academic year and hope you will take time to visit the library to find your study place and meet our library staff who are ready to….
Come by and let us help you meet both the challenges and successes of your academic journey. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or problems. Let’s make it a great year!
New Library Website and Digital Commons
Bookmark our new Library website in order to quickly search and access resources and databases! Take some time to look around at the new layout and familiarize yourself with our collections for the 23-24 school year.
https://library.kansascity.edu/
Be sure to peruse our Digital Commons page, as well. The site is home to our research repository, archival materials, and university publications.
https://digitalcommons.kansascity.edu/
As we begin a new school year, understanding what study and research tools are at your disposal is key! The KCU Library provides access to over 50 databases with several new ones to further enhance your education.
Boards&Beyond is an online tool to help COM students work through the Boards process and understand the concepts the test covers in comprehensive and clear ways. With over 447 videos and 2325 practice questions, understanding what is needed to pass Boards has become a lot more informed! Use the link below to work through setting up your free account through KCU.
https://library.kansascity.edu/bb
Other new tools and databases to access this school year:
Please let your library know if you have any questions or come across any problems accessing these.
We offer ample space for study spots on both campus libraries! In order to reserve a room in the D'Angelo space, please see the sign up sheet at the Access Services desk when you come in. Study times can be reserved in blocks of 4 hours and we have five private rooms to choose from, along with the computer room and Special Collection room which are kept open.
Our study rooms are designed for quiet group study and include Apple TVs for casting, white boards (ask the Access Services desk for dry erase markers) and OMM tables.
The D'Angelo Library in Kansas City also includes a Wellness Room where VR equipment can be checked out in hour long blocks for meditation, focus and relaxation sessions.
New E-Books shown here and more at the link below!
See full list of New Resources here
Come by the D'Angelo Library on the KC Campus to review free books on the bottom shelf of the Flashcard shelf.
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
Visit us online at library.kansascity.edu
Questions? Ask us at library@kansascity.edu
September 2023, Volume 29
Newsletter Contents
From your Dawson Library Medical Librarian: Bonnie Turner 
I would like to welcome the new and returning College of Medicine students to the Farber-McIntire campus. Also, a warm welcome to our College of Dental Medicine inaugural class of 2027. With the addition of 80 dental students and 25+ new faculty/staff, the Dawson Library is a very busy place. We are eager to meet and work with all of you.
If you haven’t stopped by the Dawson Library lately, renovations and additional seating are almost complete. We hope you find the new surroundings warm, welcoming, and study-friendly.
Have a great year!
With a new school year, comes new stress. KCU Libraries invites you to find time to utilize the relaxation and meditation equipment on each campus, provided by the THRIVE initiative. The VR headsets and chairs provide guided or freeform meditation videos and can be checked out for an hour at a time.
Students can earn a free t-shirt when they use the VR equipment for the first time by providing information on the session they viewed and answering some feedback questions!
The link below features samples of what can be expected when using this equipment!
https://www.tryhealium.com/stories/
The library is accepting donations of new and gently used children’s books for the children of Kenya. We will send the books with our KCU team on their global health outreach trips, and will be accepting donations until November 17. Please bring your donations to the D’Angelo or Dawson Libraries and contact us with any questions. Thank you so much for your help!
This month we wanted to highlight a service that the KCU Libraries is proud to offer, Interlibrary Loan. Students, staff, and faculty have access through this resource to collections of many other institutions, FOR FREE! This initiative helps bolster research and education efforts.
To request an item through interlibrary loan, please:
Please join KCU Libraries in welcoming our new addition to the staff!
Hello, everyone! I'm excited to join the team as the new weekend Special Projects Assistant. I live in the Historic Northeast with my 2 kids and many animals. I just completed my MLIS at San Jose State University and my background is working in public libraries and archives. I also serve on the board of the Quixotic Foundation. When I'm not reading a book, I enjoy hiking on Cliff Drive and learning about local history.
See full list of New Resources here!
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
Visit us online at library.kansascity.edu
Questions? Ask us at library@kansascity.edu
Newsletter Contents
National Medical Librarians Month
National Medical Librarians Month!
Stop by and wish your librarians a Happy Medical Librarians Month! We use this time to applaud and reflect the many ways medical librarians and staff help contribute to the research and knowledge goals of the university. KCU Libraries is here to support our KCU community!
We currently have Bone Boxes available for check out at both KCU library locations.
In Kansas City, we have 8 in-library use bone boxes with 6 available for take home use.
In Joplin, we have 5 on-campus use bone boxes.
The Bone Boxes used in the library are to be checked out for 2 hour increments and the take home boxes are available for a week. These items are available as a "first come, first serve" material but we are happy to add you to the waitlist for the take home boxes.
Global Outreach Book Drive Reminder
The library is accepting donations of new and gently used children’s books for the children of Kenya. We will send the books with our KCU team on their global health outreach trips, and will be accepting donations until November 17. Please bring your donations to the D’Angelo or Dawson Libraries and contact us with any questions. Thank you so much for your help!
and more!
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
Visit us online at library.kansascity.edu
Questions? Ask us at library@kansascity.edu
November 2023, Volume 31
Newsletter Contents
Celebrating 31 Years of Service - Robyn Oro
Celebrating 31 Years of Service - Robyn Oro
The KCU Libraries would like to thank Robyn Oro for 31 years of service at the D'Angelo Library! Robyn will be embarking on the great journey, we call retirement November 14, 2023. She leaves behind a team that will miss her dearly and decades of institutional knowledge. Robyn has held many positions throughout her service here and has had the privilege of watching KCU grow and evolve into the community we see today. She has been instrumental in keeping records and history of the school, alumni, and the surrounding area. We can't know who we are without knowing who we have been and Robyn is an exemplary lesson in how that leads to success.
Robyn, you will be missed and we all wish you the best on your next adventure!
Full List of New Resources Available Here!
If there is a title you wish to see in our collection, please feel free to reach out to us for any recommendations.
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
Visit us online at library.kansascity.edu
Questions? Ask us at library@kansascity.edu
