Welcome to the KCU Libraries Spring 2022 Newsletter!
KCU Libraries: 2022 SPRING BREAK HOURS
Begins Friday, March 4 through Sunday, March 13, 2022
Close at 4:30 pm on Friday, 3/4
Closed all day Sat/Sun, 3/5 & 3/6
Open M-F, 7:00 am to 4:30 pm, 3/7 thru 3/11
Closed all day Sat/Sun, 3/12 & 3/13
Open and commence regular hours, Monday, 3/14
We are proud of the research our students and faculty have done and pleased to present some of their publications here.
This month's Notes from the Archives written by Robyn Oro, Access Services/Special Collections Coordinator, focuses on Dr. Leonard Smith, DO (COM '54)
Read "A Doctor for the Common People".
Our newest database is Embase, a comprehensive biomedical research database. Click HERE to find tutorials about how to get started in Embase, how to manage and refine your search, and more!
Newsletter Contents
National Medical Librarian's Month
From Your Director, Lori Fitterling, MLS
Welcome to the D’Angelo and Dawson Libraries! It is our goal to be the center of learning for
the university and provide an environment that inspires intellectual curiosity, innovation
and collaboration. One of your most valuable resources is your KCU Library, and librarians and library
staff are ready to help you find reliable, evidence-based information and provide a quiet, learner-centered space for you to study. We are here to help you meet the challenges of your academic journey. Please do not hesitate to contact us and we will see you at the Library!
"The American Library Association condemns censorship and works to ensure free access to information."
https://www.ala.org/advocacy/bbooks/banned-books-qa
As long as I have been working in libraries (33 years now), librarians have been at the forefront of promoting intellectual freedom and access to information. So far this year, the American Library Association (ALA) has documented 681 attempts to ban or restrict library resources, (1,651 unique titles), and last year, 729 attempts (1,597 unique titles) were reported. This represents the highest number of attempted book bans since ALA began compiling these lists more than 20 years ago.
https://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2022/09/ala-releases-preliminary-data-2022-book-bans.
Banned Books Week, established by ALA in 1982 and held annually during the last full week of September, is a campaign that raises awareness about books that have been challenged or banned. One medical book we are all familiar with, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot, has been on this list. This book documents the history of Henrietta Lacks, a black woman whose cells were taken for research without her knowledge while she was being treated for cervical cancer. Research using her cells led to major medical breakthroughs including the polio vaccine, and has encouraged a dialogue about the role of human agency and informed consent in medicine. In 2015, a Tennessee parent attempted to get the book banned from Knox County Schools, alleging the book’s description of female genitalia was “pornographic.”
This year during Banned Books Week, libraries will draw attention to the increased attempts at censorship. I support my colleagues that strive to preserve our freedom to read and provide library resources for all.
In honor of National Medical Librarian's Month, McKenzie Warren from our Joplin campus has shared what she loves about the profession:
"I’ve been a fully-fledged medical librarian for about a year now and I’ve learned many things about this 
role in that time. One thing that I particularly love is the process of research. When someone comes to
me looking for information, I get to put on my thinking cap and figure out the best way to search for that
information. It’s so satisfying to create a search that gives me the exact results I need. For me, it’s sort of
like getting to play a detective who’s searching for evidence. I had no idea that I could enjoy doing this sort of thing, but medical librarianship has shown me that though research can be a long, time-consuming process, it’s also very rewarding."
The library is accepting donations of new and gently used children’s books for the children of Kenya and Guatemala. We will send the books with our KCU team on their global health outreach trips, and will be accepting donations until November 17. Please bring your donations to the D’Angelo or Dawson Libraries and contact us with any questions. Thank you so much for your help!
Recently Published Work from KCU Faculty, Staff, and Students - collected by Rick Sprinkle
Daniel Wang, COM 2023: "Photoactivated Leucocyte-Rich Platelet-Rich Plasma Treatment in Reduction of Bone Marrow Edema in Hip Osteoarthritis."
Hannah Haddad, COM 2023: "Combination Olanzapine and Samidorphan for the Management of Schizophrenia and Bipolar 1 Disorder in Adults: A Narrative Review."
Scott Lowe & Rachel Bentley, COM 2024: "Association of Organophosphate Ester Exposure with Cardiovascular Disease Among US Adults: Cross-Sectional Findings from the 2011-2018 National Health and Nutrition Examination Study."
Pouyan Shakar, COM 2025: "Perioperative Hypertension Etiologies in Patients Undergoing Noncardiac Surgery in University Health Network Hospitals - Canada from 2015-2020."
Cindy Schmidt, PhD, Faculty: "Spiritual Health Predicts Improved PHQ-9 During COVID Isolation in Extended Care Facility Patients."
Austin Ambur, GME Resident: "Isolated Nevus Unius Lateralis in a Patient from Uganda."
Paige DeVries, COM 2022: "Bronchoscopy in the Emergency Department."
Monika Neale, COM 2024: "The Impact of COVID-19 on Autism Research: A Cross-Sectional Analysis of Discontinued or Suspended Clinical Trials."
Hello everyone! I started here at KCU in late August 2022 and I graduated from University of Denver with a MLIS earlier this summer. I have a background in libraries and health care technology. I can be found behind the front desk, providing ILL and circulation assistance, access services, and more. Outside of the library, I can be found reading, enjoying time outdoors with my two dogs, Peanut & Napoleon, or getting some fall ball time in playing for a weekly kickball league. I am so excited to be here!
Notes from the Archives: from Robyn Oro
Homecoming was held in September in person for the first time in two years. Alumni returning to campus enjoyed looking through the collection of yearbooks in the D’Angelo Library archives. Pictured is the 1974 Stethoscope.
Feel free to stop by the library to take a look!
See Full List of New Resources Here
Newsletter Contents
Library Advisory Committee Update
Global Outreach Book Drive Update
Library Advisory Committee Update
In October 2022, the Library Advisory Committee met to share updates on library resources and talk about current and future projects. The Committee functions to:
The LAC helps us better articulate answers to questions like "What can your Library do for you? How can we better serve you?"
December 1-14: Regular hours
December 15-16: 7AM - 5PM
December 17-18: CLOSED
December 19-21: 7AM - 5PM
December 22 - January 2: CLOSED
January 3-6: 7AM - 5PM
January 7-8: 9AM - 5PM
January 9: Regular hours resume
At the November Town Hall, we were able to celebrate over half of the Library staff for their years of service here at KCU. Please help to congratulate them and recognize their services to KCU!
Robyn Oro, Access Services/Special Collections Coordinator - 30 Years of Service
Lori Fitterling MLS, University Library Director - 20 Years of Service
Abbey Griffith MLS, Medical Librarian/Library Manager - 5 Years of Service
Bonnie Turner MLS, Medical Librarian - 5 Years of Service
McKenzie Warren MLS, Medical Librarian - 5 Years of Service
We would also like to recognize two awards that have been given to the KCU library team!
Global Outreach Book Drive Update
We want to thank the KCU community so much for their help with this initiative! Between the two campuses we were able to collect nearly 1000 books! We were able to extend that donations to KCU's Global Health Outreach group, Children's Mercy, and Lead to Read. We appreciate everyone's support in finding ways to help us support and promote literacy within our close-knit and international communities.
Recently Published Work from KCU Faculty, Staff, and Students - collected by Rick Sprinkle
Austin Skinner, COM 2025 Joplin: "Rectus femoris transfers with and without a hamstring lengthening will not change hip kinematics in children with cerebral palsy."
YuanDian Zhen, COM 2024: "Increased anxiety from fear of Omicron in China as compared to North American and Western Europe: A cross-sectional Kendall's tau-b analysis using the generalized anxiety disorder 7-item questionnaire."
David Sine, PhD, Chair & Assistant Professor, Bioethics: "Roles of Environmental Services Workers' Wages and Status in Patient Safety."
Rachel Bentley & Scott Lowe, COM 2024: "High spicy food intake may increase the risk of esophageal cancer: A meta-analysis and systematic review."
Austin Ambur, GME Dermatology Resident: "Annular bullous lesions in a child from Uganda: chronic bullous disease of childhood."
Sabrina Demaestri, COM 2024: "Inclusion of Non-English-Speaking Participants in Pediatric Health Research: A Review."
Edith Riggs, COM 2025: "SYT1-Associated Neurodevelopmental Disorder: A Narrative Review."
Nicholas Pettinelli, COM 2025: "Athletes Report Favorable Outcomes at 5 Year Minimum Follow-up After Primary Hip Arthroscopy: A Systematic Review."
Check out a HappyLight while in the Library for an extra boost to get through those winter study months. They provide light therapy exposure and help alleviate the stress of indoor lighting.
See Full List of New Resources Here
And More!
