What's New? In 2021, the KCU Libraries purchased 300+ new e-books, along with print books, e-journals, research databases, streaming videos, and more! Check out the full list here.
Are you starting a research project and don't know where to begin? Take a look at our Research Basics Guide!
Thank you to everyone who donated to the KCU libraries this year!
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
A Note from our Library Director
It is wonderful to be back on campus and welcome students to the libraries! October is National Medical Librarians Month and it is a good time to acknowledge the important role of our KCU librarians and library staff. Medical librarians are a vital part of the interprofessional health care team. Organizations such as the Medical Library Association and the National Library of Medicine provide professional standards to guide the profession. Studies have shown that librarian’s contributions in leading users to evidence-based information resources, increases clinical decision making and patient-care outcomes. Librarians also promote information literacy education, influence research by supporting quality literature reviews, and most importantly, by instructing patrons on how to find and critically evaluate medical information.
At KCU, our physical libraries have been staffed since July and the gate count statistics (KC campus Jan-Sep--37,093), combined with our library website usage, is a great indicator of the important role of the library.
We have a wonderful team of librarians and library staff who are committed to excellence and to helping the KCU community succeed. So thank you to our libraries at KCU and all medical librarians!
New Resource: JoMI Surgical Videos
JOMI films and publishes surgical procedures offering incision-to-closure, long-form, high-quality, surgeon-narrated didactic experiences / masterclasses. JOMI is used by residents, attendings, medical students, surgical technologists, clinical staff, patients, and others around the world to help them prepare for cases, learn about novel advancements, and otherwise to have a deep and rich learning experience.
JOMI has published surgeons operating at Massachusetts General Hospital, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Duke Medical Center, the Rothman Institute, and more. Most of JOMI content is focused on general surgery, orthopaedics, orthopaedic trauma, neurosurgery, and head and neck surgery.
For more information, watch this 2-minute video:
Interlibrary Loan
Have you ever needed a book or an article that you couldn't find? Did you know that if we don’t have what you need here in our library, we can usually get it for you from another library? It’s true! This is a service we are more than glad to provide and it is called "Interlibrary Loan."
We borrow items from, lend items to, and trade items with other libraries, medical facilities and universities from all over the country as well as internationally. These items include books, journal articles, flash cards, videos, DVDs and more. We have averaged over 400 requests per month over the past few years!
You can make a request at the library or via this online form.
Please never hesitate to ask for whatever you need. We are always happy to help.
Recently Published Work from KCU Faculty, Staff and Students
Erinne Kennedy, DMD, MPH, MMSc, College of Dental Medicine Director, Predoctoral Dental Education - published in Journal of Dental Education: "Collaborating and Teaching a Synchronous, Multi-University, Virtual Course: Health Policy and Access to Dental Care."
Alex Tsai, COM 2021 - published in Paediatric Anaesthesia: "Risk Factors for Anesthetic-Related Complications in Pediatric Patients With a Newly Diagnosed Mediastinal Mass."
Marc Martinez, COM 2023, Sandeep Rathod, COM 2022 - published in Frontiers of Pediatrics: "Rumination Syndrome in Children and Adolescents: A Mini Review."
Peter Simonse, COM 2022 - published in Journal of the Association of Genetic Technologists: "Applications and Advancements of CRISPR/Cas9 Technology: An Update."
Frank DeStefano, COM 2022 - published in World Neurosurgery: "Dose Adjustment Associated Complications of Bone Morphogenetic Protein: A Longitudinal Assessment."
Hunter Hoopes, COM 2022 - published in Journal of the American College of Emergency Physicians Open: "A Case of Endogenous Endophthalmitis After a Mild Dental Infection."
Michael Kortz, COM 2021, Sean Moore, COM 2023, Joshua May, COM 2022, Brandon Bishop, COM 2023, John Dobson, MD, Assistant Professor, Pathology and Anatomical Sciences - published in Cureus: "National Resident Matching Program Performance Among US MD and DO Seniors in the Early Single Accreditation Graduate Medical Education Era."
Joseph Shaffer, Assistant Professor, Biomedical Sciences - published in Brain Imaging and Behavior: "Distinct Patterns of Altered Quantitative T1ρ and Functional BOLD Response Associated With History of Suicide Attempts in Bipolar Disorder."
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
Did you know you can download MedOne books to your mobile device?
Sign up for remote access, download the app from iTunes or Google Play, and download! Take a look at the instructions on our comprehensive Apps for Mobile Devices Library Guide!
Have you used Thieme Dissector?
"Thieme Dissector is a richly-illustrated and detailed three-volume manual for guiding students and teachers in the dissection lab. It is enriched with intricate illustrations of the human anatomy created from the clinician's perspective. These illustrations and the carefully-researched and structured text elucidate the layer by layer dissection of each region of the human body in a step-wise manner. In addition, the volumes also provide access to over 200 videos on the Thieme Dissector online platform to further facilitate comprehension."
In addition to the 200+ videos, Thieme Dissector features full-color illustrations which have been labeled with detailed captions.
Volume 1: Upper Limb and Thorax
Volume 2: Abdomen & Lower Limb
Volume 3: Head, Neck and Brain
Library Guide Spotlight: Citation Management Tools
Citation managers are tools you can use to keep track of articles and books while you research. They allow users to annotate and tag articles and can be used to create bibliographies and reference lists quickly and easily. Click here to learn more about EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero, and more! You can use this guide to also learn about saving citations directly from PubMed!
Recently Published Work from KCU Faculty, Staff and Students
Abdulbaki Agbas, PhD, MSc, Professor of Biosciences - published in the book Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis: "Blood-based biomarkers for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis"
Aulina Chowdhury, COM 2022 - published in International Journal of Radiation Oncology, Biology, Physics: "Predictors of Pneumonitis after Conventionally Fractionated Radiotherapy for Locally Advanced Lung Cancer"
Ifunanya Ejikeme, COM 2023 - published in Journal of Investigative Medicine High Impact Case Reports: "DPP-IV Inhibitor-Associated Angioedema in Patient With Known History of ACE Inhibitor Angioedema"
Ifunanya Ejikeme, COM 2023 - published in Journal of Investigative Medicine High Impact Case Reports: "Hepatosplenic Abscess From Klebsiella pneumoniae in Poorly Controlled Diabetic"
Brian Kongs, COM 2022 - published in Clinical Neurology and Neurosurgery: "How neuropsychiatric comorbidity, modulatory indication, demographics, and other factors impact deep brain stimulation inpatient outcomes in the United States: A population-based study of 27,956 patients"
Guei-Jun Alice Liou, COM 2022 - published in The American Journal of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene: "Clinical and Epidemiological Features of Acute Zika Virus Infections in León, Nicaragua"
Joanna Rowe, COM 2022 - published in Journal of Pain and Symptom Management: "Palliative Care Practice During the COVID-19 Pandemic: A Descriptive Qualitative Study of Palliative Care Clinicians"
Daniel Wang, COM 2023 - published in Healthcare: "Assessing the quality of randomization methods in randomized control trials"
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
A Note from our Library Director
Welcome to the KCU Libraries! We are looking forward to this new academic year and being able to assist you with your study and research needs. The library is both a place and a virtual portal which means that we provide you both a quiet place to study with various types of furniture, study rooms, computers, and print resources; as well as a portal to an extensive digital health sciences collection through our library website. Our library team is experienced, professional, friendly and dedicated to the KCU mission of ensuring that library resources support the curriculum and scholarly interests of the KCU community.
We are ready to…
Let us help you meet both the challenges and successes of your academic journey. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or problems. Let’s make it a great year!
Need to contact your library staff ASAP? Try our Virtual Chat service!
Staffed from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm on weekdays and 9:00 am to 11:00 pm on weekends, this is a quick and easy way to get answers to your questions and connect with library staff!
Library staff work hard to create Library Guides on a wide variety of topics, from program-specific guides, guides on citation management tools, to guides for authors and those looking to publish. Are you curious about publishing a Case Report? Take a look at this Library Guide filled with helpful tips on getting started, writing a case report, and where to publish.
New Database
Take a look at our newest database! The Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source features more than four hundred e-journals, e-books, magazines, and trade publications. Your KCU libraries are excited to support our College of Dental Medicine with new resources, books, and more.
Recently Published Work from KCU Faculty, Staff and Students
Paul Creger, COM 2022 - published in Cureus: "Resection of an Asymptomatic Lymphangioma in a 76-Year-Old Male"
Frank DeStefano, COM 2022 and Timothy Mayo, COM 2022 - published in Surgical Neurology International: "Effect of comorbidities on ischemic stroke mortality: An analysis of the National Inpatient Sample (NIS) Database"
Frank DeStefano, COM 2022 - published in Clinical and Applied Thrombosis/Hemostasis: "National Trends for Peripheral Artery Disease and End Stage Renal Disease From the National Inpatient Sample Database"
Reid Gamble, COM 2022, Jan Talley, PhD, Research Analyst - published in Journal of Osteopathic Medicine: "U.S. medical school admissions and enrollment practices: status of LGBTQ inclusivity"
William Jacobus, COM 2023 - published in iScience: "Combined epigenetic and metabolic treatments overcome differentiation blockade in acute myeloid leukemia"
Tremayne Koochin, COM 2023 - published in Tobacco Prevention & Cessation: "Evaluation of spin in the abstracts of systematic reviews and meta-analyses of treatments and interventions for smoking cessation"
Matt Leavitt, MD, GME Faculty - published in Dermatologic Clinics: "Clinical Patterns of Hair Loss in Men: Is Dihydrotestosterone the Only Culprit?"
Karstan Luchini, COM 2023, Shelly Sloan, MS, Research Associate, Ryan Mauro, COM 2023, Aspram Sargsyan, COM 2021, Aundrea Newman, COM 2023, Dennis Wolff, PhD, Associate Professor of Basic Sciences, Jeff Staudinger, PhD, Chair of Basic Sciences, Bradley Creamer, MS, PhD, Associate Professor of Basic Sciences - published in 3D Printing in Medicine: "Sterilization and sanitizing of 3D-printed personal protective equipment using polypropylene and a Single Wall design"
Monika Neale, COM 2023 - published in Substance Abuse: "Evaluating spin in the abstracts of systematic reviews and meta-analyses on cannabis use disorder"
Leslie McNolty, Bioethics - published in The American Journal of Bioethics: "Principles over Propositions: Or, How to Reject Metaphysical Neutrality in Bioethics"
Angela Pierce, PhD, Director of COM Preclinical Assessment - published in Frontiers in Physiology: "Voluntary Wheel Running Partially Attenuates Early Life Stress-Induced Neuroimmune Measures in the Dura and Evoked Migraine-Like Behaviors in Female Mice"
William Rea, COM 2023 - published in Diabetic Medicine: "Spin Infrequently Occurs in Abstracts of Systematic Reviews For The Pharmacological Treatment of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus"
Robert Rogers, MA, PhD, Director of Preclinical Curriculum, Abdulbaki Agbas, PhD, Professor of Biosciences – published in Scientific Reports: “Oxaloacetate treatment preserves motor function in SOD1 G93A mice and normalizes select neuroinflammation-related parameters in the spinal cord”
Aaron Stafford, COM 2022 - published in Arthroscopy, Rehabilitation, and Sports Medicine: "Intervention Reporting of Published Trials Is Insufficient in Orthopaedic Surgery Journals: Application of the Template for Intervention Description and Replication Checklist"
Kevin Wu, COM 2022 - published in Foot & Ankle Specialist: "Patients With Chronic Foot and Ankle Conditions Experience Significant Improvements in Sleep Quality Following Surgical Intervention"
Hanxin Zhang, COM 2025 - published in PLoS Biology: "Do psychiatric diseases follow annual cyclic seasonality?"
YuanDian Zheng, COM 2024 - published in Cureus: "Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factor as a Clinical Biomarker in Predicting the Development of Post-Stroke Depression: A Review of Evidence"
Yinglin Zhu, COM 2023 - published in Behavioural Brain Research: "Proteomic and metabolomic characterization of amygdala in chronic social defeat stress rats"
Check out the list of Required Textbooks here on the library website!
Your libraries are more than just a physical space on campus. They're a portal to virtual information that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! Having trouble accessing resources or finding what you need? Contact your library staff! We're here to help!
Current Library Hours / Services
We are excited to have expanded our hours for student study. Currently, the libraries are open from 8:00 am to 11:00 pm from Monday through Thursday and 8:00 am to 6:00 pm on Fridays and Saturdays. Study spaces are available on a first come, first served basis and no longer require sign up.
Students studying in the libraries are physically distanced, wearing masks, and cleaning their study areas with the provided wipes. Hand sanitizer is also available. Contactless checkout is still available, but please feel free to browse our library stacks for the books you need! Check out books, book stands, headphones, Happy Lights, or whiteboard markers for use in the library. For your safety, items are quarantined for one day between uses. Come study with us!
New Resource
We're excited to announce a new addition to our resources: the Kansas City Business Journal!
See a full list of our New Acquisitions here!
Deciding where to publish can be a challenge!
Visit our Resources for Authors Library Guide for helpful information on publishing. With link to specific tools, checklists and more, this guide was created to provide resources for authors who are looking to publish their research. This information can help you decide where to publish and make this decision process easier for you.
Recently Published Work from KCU Faculty, Staff and Students
Mina Alsalihi, COM 2022 – published in Neuro-degenerative Diseases: “Association of Progressive Supranuclear Palsy Rating Scale with Progressive Supranuclear Palsy Quality of Life Scale”
Michael Guan, COM 2021 - published in British Journal of Anaesthesia: "Perioperative sleep in geriatric cardiac surgical patients: a feasibility study using a wireless wearable device"
Lela Heza, COM 2021 - published in BMJ Case Reports: "Pneumatosis intestinalis and intestinal perforation in a case of multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children"
Kenneth Kim, COM 2020 - published in Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine: "Weightbearing Protocols After Posterolateral Corner Reconstruction: A Systematic Review"
Michael Kortz, COM 2021 - published in Frontiers in Endocrinology: "Case Report: Metastatic Bronchopulmonary Carcinoid Tumor to the Pineal Region"
Anya Koza, COM 2023 - published in Journal of Medical Internet Research: "Sleep in Frontline Healthcare Workers During the COVID-19 Pandemic: A Social Media Survey Study"
Youjin Na, COM 2021, Derek Clary, COM 2020, Zachary Rose-Renau, COM 2021, Larry Segars, PharmD, DrPH, BCPS, FACE, FCCP, RPh, Chair of Basic Sciences, Andrea Hanson, Manager of Assessment and Disability Services Coordinator, Philip Brauer, PhD, Chair of Anatomy, Barth Wright, PhD, Chair of Anatomy - published in Anatomical Sciences Education: "Spatial Visualization of Human Anatomy through Art Using Technical Drawing Exercises"
Perwaiz Nawabi, COM 2022 - published in Journal of Surgical Case Reports: "Lymphangiography with lipiodol as a diagnostic and therapeutic approach for Chyle Leak ascites following Simultaneous Pancreas-Kidney Transplant"
Robert Tyler, DO, Assistant Professor, Primary Care, Mariam Akhtar, DO, Assistant Professor, Primary Care, Ken Stewart DO, Assistant Professor, Primary Care, Robert Arnce, DO Assistant Professor, Primary Care - published in MedEd Publish: "Clinician to Medical Teacher: Perspectives for the First Year"
Kyle Varkoly, COM 2021, Roxana Beladi, COM 2021 - published in Journal of Investigative Medicine High Impact Case Reports: "Incidental Finding of a Large Right Atrial Thrombus in a Patient With Cerebral Lymphoma"
Michael Weaver, COM 2021 - published in Journal of Glaucoma: "Do Author Conflicts of Interest and Industry Sponsorship Influence Outcomes of Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses Regarding Glaucoma Interventions? A Cross-sectional Analysis"
Welcome back to the library, students!
Library staff are very excited to have reopened our libraries in March as one of the available study spaces on campus (under Phase 4 of the KCU reawakening plan). Libraries on both campuses are open from 8:00 to 12:00 and 1:00 to 5:00 on Mondays through Thursdays. Sign up is required and is available through a SignUpGenius link that is distributed by Student Services every Friday.
Students studying in the libraries are physically distanced, wearing masks, and cleaning their study areas with the provided wipes. Hand sanitizer is also available. Library staff are on hand to obtain any books needed from our library stacks and contactless checkout is still available. Come study with us!
KCU Libraries are excited to share about a series of workshops called Scholarly Snippets! These workshops were created to help you boost your research and scholarship skills.
Scholarly Snippets is a series of 30-minute workshops on a range of topics and will be presented by librarians from Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine, California Health Sciences University, Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine, Kansas City University, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, and Western University of Health Sciences. Workshops will take place on Zoom and will be recorded.
We encourage faculty, staff, and students alike to attend and challenge everyone to snip a few minutes out of their day and learn something new! Learn more by visiting our Scholarly Snippets Library Guide.
eResource Highlight
As you spring forward into the next phase of your medical education, don’t forget about these resources that can help you in your clinical experience.
Familiarize yourself with our Point of Care Databases information in the Residents & Residency Faculty Library Guide!
Get mobile with our Apps for Mobile Devices Library Guide! With information on downloading and maintaining remote access, this guide can help you access important point of care tools.
Going to AACOM's annual conference this year? Be sure to check out two posters being presented by the Council of Osteopathic Librarians (COOL). Lori Fitterling, our library director, is part of a group that has been working on a bibliometric analysis of the top 50 articles cited in medical education at osteopathic medical schools. Abbey Griffith, one of our medical librarians on our Joplin campus, has been working with a team of osteopathic medical librarians to complete a scoping review on the prominent trends in osteopathic medical education. We are very excited that both these groups will be presenting this year at AACOM!
EL131_FP14_218 - Trends In Osteopathic Medical Education: A Scoping Review Protocol
A multi-state team of medical librarians will present a scoping review protocol in order to assess prominent trends in undergraduate and graduate osteopathic medical education, and identify opportunities for further research. Librarians are experts on creating and executing reviews, including choosing what type of review best fits the evidence. Clinicians and educators alike will learn how the team developed the search methodology for this protocol.
EL146_FP82_98 - The Top-cited Articles In Osteopathic Medical Education: A Bibliometric Analysis
The Council of Osteopathic Librarians (COOL) performed a bibliometric analysis of the top 50 cited articles about medical education at osteopathic medicals schools. Bibliometric analysis provides a way to view the landscape of scholarly research and authorship in scientific publishing.
Handy advice from a helpful video - "Search Once, Twice, Then Ask Your Librarian."
Medical Library Association. (2020, August 4). MLA InSight Initiative: Search Once, Twice, Then Ask Your Librarian [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=En-2ZSDnJz4
Recently Published Work from KCU Faculty, Staff and Students
Roxana Beladi, COM 2021, Kyle Varkoly, COM 2021 – published in Current Neuropharmacology: “Serine Proteases and Chemokines in Neurotrauma; New Targets for Immune Modulating Therapeutics in Spinal Cord Injury”
Elise Craig, DO, GME Resident – published in The Journal of the American Osteopathic Association: “Poor match rates of osteopathic applicants into ACGME dermatology and other competitive specialties”
Matthew Daggett, DO, GME Faculty, Adnan Saithna, MD, GME Faculty – published in Arthroscopy Techniques: “Percutaneous Anterior Cruciate Ligament Repair With Needle Arthroscopy and Biological Augmentation”
Huy Doan, COM 2022 - published in American Journal of Opthalmology Case Reports: "Reperfusion of retinal ischemia in retinal occlusive vasculitis with nicotinic acid and infliximab in Adamantiades-Behçet's disease"
Michael Guan, COM 2021 – published in Clinical Neurophysiology: “Postictal generalized electroencephalographic suppression following electroconvulsive therapy: Temporal characteristics and impact of anesthetic regimen”
Perwaiz Nawabi, COM 2022 – published in Journal of Surgical Case Reports: “Surgical management of a massive choledochal cyst”
Linda Niessen, DMD, Vice Provost for Oral Health - published in Dental Clinics of North America: "Innovations in Geriatric Oral Health Care"
Robert Rogers, MA, PhD, Phase I Director - published in Autophagy: “Guidelines for the use and interpretation of assays for monitoring autophagy (4th edition)”
Adnan Saithna, MD, GME Faculty - published in Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine: "Risk Factors for Rapid Chondrolysis After Partial Lateral Meniscectomy: A Scoping Review of the Literature"
Christopher Surek, Assistant Professor, Anatomy – published in Aesthetic Surgery Journal: “A New Target for Temple Volumization? An Anatomical and Ultrasound Guided Study of the Intermediate Temporal Fat Pad”
Huy Tran, COM 2022 – published in Translational Research: “Pain in sickle cell disease: current and potential translational therapies”
Mentioned as a "must-read" during the KCU International Women's Day presentation, "The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks," by Rebecca Skloot, is a story of race relations, modern medicine, and bioethics.
From the publisher's description: "Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer, yet her cells--taken without her knowledge--became one of the most important tools in medicine. The first "immortal" human cells grown in culture, they are still alive today, though she has been dead for more than sixty years. HeLa cells were vital for developing the polio vaccine; uncovered secrets of cancer and viruses; helped lead to in vitro fertilization, cloning, and gene mapping; and have been bought and sold by the billions. Yet Henrietta Lacks is buried in an unmarked grave. Her family did not learn of her "immortality" until more than twenty years after her death, when scientists began using her husband and children in research without informed consent. The story of the Lacks family is inextricably connected to the dark history of experimentation on African Americans, the birth of bioethics, and the legal battles over whether we control the stuff we are made of."
Interested in reading more? Use our contactless checkout service to check this fascinating book out of our library!
Take a dive into our Digital Archives!
The D’Angelo Library Archives have been closed to the public during the pandemic but our digital archives are always available.
Explore our collections at https://digitalcommons.kansascity.edu/archives/
Included are:
More KCU history can be found in our Library Guides: https://library.kansascity.edu/archives as well as at our archival blog: https://library.kansascity.edu/blog
New E-Journals added to the collection:
Clini
cal Psychology: Science and Practice: This journal "presents cutting-edge developments in the science and practice of clinical psychology and related mental health fields by publishing scholarly articles, primarily involving narrative and systematic reviews as well as meta-analyses related to assessment, intervention, and service delivery."
Current Pro
blems in Cancer: Case Reports, a companion title to Current Problems in Cancer, "is an international, peer-reviewed open access Journal which aims to fortify the field of oncology by publishing original case reports featuring prevention, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, supportive care, quality of life and rehabilitation."
Public Health in Practice: This journal is "a gold open access journal in the field of population health," which focuses on "public health in practice, emerging topics, and policy debates."
View the list of all our new resources here!
Don't forget about our Interlibrary loan services!
Our Interlibrary loan services are fast and free!
Students, staff and faculty may use the library's interlibrary loan service to borrow materials from other institutions. There is no charge to borrow items through interlibrary loan.
To request an item through interlibrary loan, please:
Recently Published Work from KCU Faculty, Staff and Students
Theja Bhamidipati, COM 2022, Huy Doan, COM 2022, Nariman Hossein-Javaheri, COM 2022, Hao Tang, COM 2022 – published in Cureus: “Beneficial Effects of Amnion-Chorion Stem Cell Grafting in the Long Term Management of Nonuremic Calciphylaxis Wounds”
Mattias Dilling, COM 2021 – published in F1000 Research: “Case Report: Simultaneously diagnosed gastric adenocarcinoma and pernicious anemia - a classic association”
Elyssa Kleinwaks, COM 2023 – published in Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology: “Vitiligo on YouTube: A Cross-sectional Analysis”
Mira Modi, COM 2023, Ehab Sarsour, PhD, Assistant Professor, Basic Sciences - published in Free Radical Biology & Medicine: "N-alkyl triphenylvinylpyridinium conjugated dihydroartemisinin perturbs mitochondrial functions resulting in enhanced cancer versus normal cell toxicity"
Edward Pingenot, COM 2023 – published in Missouri Medicine: “Rehabilitation Utilization by Cancer Patients with Pathology-Confirmed Leptomeningeal Disease Receiving Intrathecal Chemotherapy”
Adnan Saithna, MD, GME Faculty – published in Arthroscopy Techniques: “Combined Reconstruction of the Medial Patellofemoral Ligament and Medial Quadriceps Tendon-Femoral Ligament”
Cindy Schmidt, PhD, Scholarly Activity, Andrew Dang, COM 2021 - published in Family Medicine: "Physician Disengagement and Spiritual Dissonance in Medical Students"
Aviva Schuller, COM2022 - published in World Journal of Urology: “Impact of statin use on overall and time to biochemical failure following radical prostatectomy or radiation therapy”
D'Arcy Turner, COM 2022 – published in Obesity: “Completeness of Intervention Reporting of Clinical Trials Published in Highly Ranked Obesity Journals”
Kyle Varkoly, COM 2021, Roxana Beladi, COM 2021 – published in Frontiers in Public Health: “Chronological Impact of Earthquakes on Blood Pressure: A Literature Review and Retrospective Study of Hypertension in Haiti Before and After the 2010 Earthquake”
From your Library Director...
“Libraries in America defend the constitutional rights of all individuals and are cornerstones of the communities they serve. We celebrate and preserve our democratic society so that all individuals have the opportunity to become lifelong learners and engaged residents—informed, literate, educated, and culturally enriched.” [Recent affirmation from the American Library Association (ALA) and the Medical Library Association (MLA) in response to current events]
I am convinced that information literacy education is more important now than ever before, and to that end, the D’Angelo and Dawson libraries are committed to exercising integrity, compassion, excellence, collaboration, intellectual curiosity, innovation, and preserving our heritage in our library work. We continue to adapt to remote delivery of library services with flexible service strategies such as contactless book checkout and return. Our website, chat, and library guide usage statistics are evidence that we are meeting the needs of our user community. And I am personally in awe of the high professionalism exhibited by the library staff as we have maneuvered the remote-working environment. It is hard to remove a librarian from their library, and as we are eager to return to our building, we will bring with us a more critical review of library processes with a list of things we can let go of or change. The library remains committed to our mission:
The mission of the KCU Library is to provide a dynamic, learner centered environment while serving the informational and research needs of the KCU community. The D’Angelo and Dawson Libraries align with the mission of the university by advancing education, research, patient care and community service for the university and the communities that we serve. It is our goal to be the center of learning for the university and provide an environment that inspires intellectual curiosity, innovation and collaboration.
Library Usage Statistics
This month's new Notes from the Archives, written by Robyn Oro, Access Services/Special Collections Coordinator, focuses on Dr. Mary Lou Butterworth, DO (COM '50).
Read "Dr. Butterworth in Her Own Words."
A note about Faculty, Staff, and Student Publications from Rick Sprinkle, Library Special Projects Assistant.
For some time now KCU has had the stated goal of increasing research and publication output. So far, we are doing very well. Both campuses generated over 130 publications in 2020. Notwithstanding the pandemic we more than doubled our research output over 2019. The 2018 – 2019 period was 39% more than 2016-2017 period.
Here is how to enjoy your publications at KCU. We have colorful print/photo displays of each paper as it becomes available. You can spot them around the ground floor of the D'Angelo Library on shelves and leaning artfully. The library also shows off your research on our lobby color TV. To locate Faculty publications, please use our Faculty Scholarly Activity Library Guide! You can also hear about new publications right here in our monthly Library Newsletter. Some of these you will have to view once we are reunited on our campuses.
Congratulations to the students, faculty and staff! We are off to a good start for 2021 with 5 new studies already published. We look to seeing you!
Recently Published Work from KCU Faculty, Staff and Students
Brooke Adams, COM 2022 – published in StatPearls: “Appropriate Magnetic Resonance Imaging Ordering”
Andrew Brevik, COM 2021 – published in Cureus: “Low-Intensity Shockwave Therapy in the Treatment of Erectile Dysfunction”
Swetha Gogu, COM 2021 – published in StatPearls: “Trendelenburg Sign”
Kerrie Jordan, PhD, Administrative Director of GME – published in Missouri Medicine: “Impact of the Single Accreditation System on Missouri Osteopathic Graduate Medical Education”
Kevin Kain, COM 2021 – published in Radiology Case Reports: “Findings of Subarachnoid Fat After Trauma to a Tarlov Cyst”
Erinne Kennedy, Director of Predoctoral Education - Dental – published in Family Medicine and Community Health: “Depression, periodontitis, caries and missing teeth in the USA, NHANES 2009-2014”
Elaine Lai, COM 2023 – published in Journal of Glaucoma: “Evaluation of Spin in the Abstracts of Systematic Reviews and Meta-analyses of Treatments for Glaucoma”
Perwaiz Nawabi, COM 2022 – published in Journal of Surgical Case Reports: “Small bowel obstruction due to retroperitoneal hernia following renal transplant: a case report”
Zak Rose-Renau, COM 2021, Amanda Moorefield, COM 2022, Derek Schirmer, COM 2020, Eugene Ismailov, COM2021, Barth Wright, PhD, Chair of Anatomy Department – published in Cureus: “The Critical Shoulder Angle as a Diagnostic Measure for Osteoarthritis and Rotator Cuff Pathology”
Neal Talukdar, COM 2021 - published in Journal of Pediatric Surgery: "Impact of an institution-designed algorithm for the management of dislodged gastrostomy tubes"
D'Arcy Turner, COM 2022 – published in European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics: “DNA-crosslinked alginate and layered microspheres to modulate the release of encapsulated FITC-dextran”
Dennis Wolff, PhD, Associate Professor, Basic Sciences – published in Science Signaling: “Airway relaxation mechanisms and structural basis of osthole for improving lung function in asthma”
Barth Wright, PhD, Chair of Anatomy Department - published in Scientific Reports: "Ingestive behaviors in bearded capuchins (Sapajus libidinosus)"
Need help with citations? Try our Tips on Citing Library Guide!
This excellent resource contains guidance on on AMA, APA and MLA Citation styles!